Operation Trim Week 51 172

It’s been an interesting year.  I started 2012 at 198 lbs, the heaviest I have even been.  Almost 52 weeks later, and I’m weighing in around the 172 mark.  That equals about 26 lbs, or about 1/2 lb per week lost.  In the grand scheme of things, I am happy to have lost this weight.  Around late spring, I plateaued in the mid 170’s, and have been bouncing around this mark ever since.  The good thing is I haven’t gained the weight back even with vacations, summer bbq’s, business travel, and Thanksgiving.  The real challenge will be next week for Christmas at my in-laws – my mother in law likes to make us pancakes.  I figure I can get through the holidays, and start fresh in 2013 working towards my goal of 160 lbs.

Operation Trim

This was my first Operation Trim photo taken on January 2nd.  Yes, the lighting is bad and the angle is different, but I think the difference is clear.  Not only do I have Weight Watchers to thank, but also my wife, my friends, and my family for being supportive.  And running has certainly helped.  This year I ran four short races between 4 and 7 miles.  Next year I hope to run a half marathon, but we’ll see.

I also need to land a new job for 2013.  Yeah, it’s been a while since I’ve updated anything on this site.  Unfortunately my last position did not work out, but it was certainly an interesting learning experience.  I really hope my next move will be the right one, and that I can stay there for a long time.

I’m not sure what I plan to do with Crabapple, or my other blogs in the new year.  I have kind of lost the passion that fueled my blogging in the past.  I would love to get back to writing fiction in my free time next year.  If I did plan on writing a list of New Year’s resolutions that would be on it.  So would the final 12 lbs.  Then I would add curbing my spending on clothes and dining out.  But this isn’t a list of resolutions, so there.

I want to thank everyone who has kept up with my weight loss in 2012, and who has offered support and encouragement.  You were all a big help.

Have a wonderful holiday season and happy new year!!

