Some of you may have noticed the resurgence of the bow tie in New York City.  Apparently it has become fashionable again.  I’ve seen it myself at stores like Rugby and J.Crew, but very seldom have I actually seen it put into practice on the street.  Personally, I think it’s silly.  Although some people can pull it off, others end up looking like Pee Wee Herman. 

I saw a gentleman this morning walk into Starbucks donning a light grey two button suit, white shirt, white bucks, and a bow tie .  The Buddy Holly style glasses and cowlick added to the nerdiness of the look.  Was it done on purpose?  Probably.  Did he look good?  Well, fashionistas out there might argue that he was being innovative, creative, clever, artistic, fashionable, etc.  All I saw was Pee Wee Herman.  I do, however prefer the bow tie with the tux over the straight tie.  If you’re going to wear a straight tie, why not just wear a suit?

On a scale of 1 to 5 I give this trend a 2.

~Sam

