Back in the mid 90’s the British invaded the states again with groups like Oasis, Blur, Supergrass, The Stone Roses, and my favorite, Pulp…amongst others.  Blur had a good run, and Oasis continues to put out new music*, but after the success of their 1995 hit Different Class we didn’t hear much from Pulp…until last year. 

Jarvis Cocker, Pulp’s front man released his debut solo album Jarvisto little fanfare, but with considerable recognition from more widely respected publications.  I picked up the CD (yes, I still buy CD’s) the day it was released.  The album was reminiscent of Pulp’s mid 90’s work, but with a modern edge and the maturity of a guy who’s been there, done that, and bought the t-shirt.  Stand out tracks include Fat Children, Black Magic, and Heavy Weather.  The songs are melodic, yet dark like the man himself…or so he would like you to think, I think.

This is far from a new album, but since nothing of significance has been released since Beck‘s Modern Guilt I’ve had to revisit other favorites. 

Over the next month I will be seeing both Weezer & Ben Folds in concert, so that should be fun.  This will be my sixth or seventh time seeing Weezer.  Psyched!

~Sam

*The term music is used loosely to describe the more recent releases from Oasis as most of it is crap**
**In my opinion, of course

