An apple a day keeps the doctor away…

At least that’s what they told us back in elementary school.  They also told us that eating an apple after a meal helped to clean your teeth therefore keeping the dentist away too.  20 some odd years later and I still eat an apple a day.  I like to change up the kind I buy between Granny Smith, Macintosh, red delicious, Fuji, Gala, etc. 

Last Saturday, Kristina and I were walking through the Farmer’s Market at Borough Hall in Brooklyn, and found a vendor that sold various types of organic apples.  I was in the mood for some Granny Smiths.  These were not nearly as green as I’m used to buying, they were considerably smaller, and somewhat bruised.  Something made me buy a dozen though.  I’m glad I made that decision because we are both now obsessed with these apples.  I don’t think I’ve ever tasted anything quite like it.  The taste is clearly that of a Granny Smith, but without any trace of harsh pesticides.

What’s the point of all this?  I’m not here to preach buying organic, or even buying from local growers.  I’m just sharing how f’cking good they are!  You make your own decisions.
apples
~Sam

