Since I’m getting married later this year and I want to 1) look good on the beach (it’s a beach wedding), 2) feel good, & 3) eventually have kids and coach their soccer teams I have made it my mission to drop 15 pounds or so in fat, and build lean muscle.  I’ve been trying for a few years to do this, but feel that this year I’m making changes that will help me along.

 

For starters, I’m eating better, drinking only on the weekend, and exercising every day.

 

Yesterday, I did High Intensity Training exercises for chest and back.  My colleague, Ken gave me these to do.  You start off each set of exercises with a weight you can lift 10 times.  Then you drop twice doing as many reps of each as you can until exhaustion.  It’s killer.  The circuit I completed was as follows:

 

Chest: 2 warm up sets for each exercise.

Bench (incline or flat) with the barbell

1st set: 10 reps

2nd set: Drop weight and rep till exhaustion

3rd set: Drop weight and rep till exhaustion

 

Bench (incline or flat) with the dumbbells

1st set: 10 reps

2nd set: Drop weight and rep till exhaustion

3rd set: Drop weight and rep till exhaustion

 

Cable Fly’s

1st set: 10 reps

2nd set: Drop weight and rep till exhaustion

3rd set: Drop weight and rep till exhaustion

 

Back:

Same as above

Pull downs, rows, and back extensions.

Tonight I’m doing a boxing class I’ve been hitting up every Wednesday for the past couple of weeks.  Nothing like constant movement for 45 minutes to show you just how truly out of shape you really are…

 

~Sam

 

 

