During that one really warm day in early March Kristina and I hopped the F train going south headed to Coney Island.  She likes to walk on the boardwalk, and frolic on the beach.  I like The Brooklyn Cyclones and Nathan’s Hot Dogs.  We made a day of it, and covered all the bases. 

While tossing a baseball on the beach, I noticed we were being photographed by some dude.  Being an exhibitionist, and all it didn’t bother me.  I’m not sure Kristina noticed.  The guy eventually came over to me, and introduced himself as Nicholas C. Martinez from NY City News Service.  I had no idea what that was, but he gave me a card that looked legit enough.  He said he was doing a piece on how couples keep their romance fresh and asked if he could interview us.  We obliged. 

I don’t remember exactly what he asked us, but I know we hesitated a lot on the answers to his questions.  Not because we don’t have romance in our life, but because, well a lot of it just seemed so obvious.  He took a particular liking to the fact that I call Kristina during the day just to chat about nothing.  Because that’s what I do.  Sometimes I like to just hear her voice.  It makes me happy.

Anyway, he never posted the article on the NY City News Service website.  I e-mailed him to find out what happened, and received a link to his own personal blog where the article, and a stunning photoof Kristina and me are located.  Just promise me one thing – that you’ll ignore the dumb quote.  I can’t believe we couldn’t have thought of something better.  I am truly embarrassed.

~Sam

PS: Congratulations to my good friends Jillian and Tommy who got engaged last night.  Or as we say in the old country, MAZEL TOV!

