It’s a beautiful 75 degree day in Brooklyn.  Kristina is off wedding dress shopping, and I’m left to fend for myself.  Sure, there is a 1:00 Mets game, but it’s too nice to sit inside and wait around for that to start.  What’s a boy to do?

Brooklyn Flea‘s outdoor Fort Greene Market officially opened for the season today.  It has received numerous endorsements from Brownstoner, The Choosy Beggar, & A Continuous Lean, and various other NYC bloggersThe market is less than a mile from my Boerum Hill bubble, so I decided to walk it.

It took me about 20 minutes to get there.  The walk was easy.  I got to Lafayette, the main drag in Fort Greene, and began to see the familiar skinny jeans, skull caps, big plastic sunglasses, unruly facial hair, and fashionable frowns of my nemeses, the hipsters.  Upon arrival at the flea market I came to find myself surrounded.  I swear I was seeing the same four people over and over, but no they just all look the same.

For example…

Is that a half mullet?

Is that a half mullet?

Playing banjo in a three-piece band is no excuse for that beard!

Playing banjo in a three-piece band is no excuse for that beard!

Nice shades...

Nice shades...

The merchants at the market weren’t bad though.  There was some cool vintage furniture and knickknacks, art, food, and clothing.  I browsed for a while, taking crappy photos on my Blackberry (Kristina took the camera with her to the wedding boutiques), and constantly jumped out of the way of oncoming hipsters who pay zero attention to anyone else around them.

I wasn’t impressed enough by the merchants to really feel any need to return anytime soon.  Besides, there’s enough hipsters right outside my front door.

~Sam

