Originally uploaded by Ol’ Wizard

I’ve been reading Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union. The book is set in Sitka, Alaska – a haven, of sorts created for the Jews of the world after the collapse of Israel in 1948, shortly after its creation. The story follows Detective Meyer Landsman as he tries to solve a case in which the junkie son of the Rebbe was murdered. I’m only about 150 pages in, but so far it is a very interesting story. It’s a crime novel, but told in a way that only Michael Chabon can tell a story. It’s kind of creepy, and sad.

Anyway, this photo made me think. If Chabon’s imagined world had actually happened then what is seen in this photograph couldn’t.

Kristina and I plan to visit Israel one day – hopefully sooner than later, and a visit to the Wailing Wall is something that is high on my list of things to do…that, and drink beers on Ben Yehuda Street.

~Sam

