vanderbelt concours 2004

That’s a photo of my dad, Les Jacobs – a crab– standing with his baby, a 1967 MGC roadster in pale primrose yellow, purchased 42 years ago by him off the showroom floor.

He drove this car while in college, took it to Toronto when he moved there – driving it back and forth fairly often (until he met my mom).  It sat in our Long Island garage for many years rotting away underneath, enduring numerous dings and scratches at the hands of me and my brother, and our bicycles.  He nearly sold it once in the 80’s – would have broken my wittle heart.

About 10 years ago he decided it was time to junk it or restore it.  Thankfully he chose the latter.  A lot of blood, sweat, and cold hard cash went into preserving my legacy (as he likes to refer to it).  He’s won numerous car show awards – mostly at the Vanderbilt Estate in Centerport, but there may be a few others – I’m not sure.  And to this day I’ve driven it once – before he decided to restore it – and the brakes squeaked – really bad.

Today, the car spends the winters in the garage and the warmer months hugging the open road – usually Ocean Parkway at 7:00 AM on a Sunday.  When I need gifts for him it’s usually something that revolves around the car.  Yesterday, I declared I would use the opportunity of meeting sketch artist Richard Haines at the new J.Crew men’s store at 484 Broadway as an opportunity to get my dad yet another MGC related gift for Father’s Day.

I sat down with Mr. Haines at the store just a little while ago and presented him with the photo.  I could tell by the look on his face that I had challenged him.  He started by drawing my dad and set the page aside.  He took a fresh sheet, started with the car and set the page aside.  He then confirmed my assumption – I had challenged him.  On the third sheet of paper he hit the nail on the head. 

MG Sketch 001

I think it turned out rather nicely!  Now I just need to find a cool, vintage 8 1/2 x 14 frame.  Anyone know where I can find one of those?

~Sam

