Mike Pelfrey

Originally uploaded by mrzeising

As most of my reader know I am somewhat of a big METS fan. I’ve been watching them for as long as I can remember – early 80’s comes to mind. I watched Game 6. My hatred for the Yankees and their fans grew beyond what is considered normal after Game 5 of the 2000 World Series. My heart dropped into my stomach on October 19th, 2006 as Adam “Stinky Face” Wainwright threw a breaking ball past Carlos Beltran bringing the METS storybook season to an abrupt close.

Through thick and think they’re our “lovable losers,” or as someone I know described it, “being a METS fan is like being in an abusive relationship.” It’s all true.

The METS, over the past three winters have tried time and again to bounce back and recreate a team similar to that of the 2006 team…well, those of us who follow any team in baseball know how that turned out the past two seasons. The Phillies make me want to hurl.

For the 2008 season, the METS brought on Johan Santana, one of the best pitchers in baseball to be their ace. And an ace he was. He continues to stun hitters this season.

A less likely #2, however is Mike Pelfrey. A third of the way into the 2008 season, Pelfrey who had been mediocre if not downright awful at times suddenly broke out of his shell and became the powerhouse we’d been hearing about through the AAA circuit.

For two years I’ve had him on my fantasy team. One of my favorite Big Pelf moments from last season though was when he threw a pitch inside to…someone. The batter got all angry – yelling and waving his bat, and began to walk towards the mound. Pelfrey, easily twice this other dude’s size stood his ground and calmly said, “bring it on.” The fight didn’t happen, but it was a pivotal moment. It said, “Do not fuck with Mike Pelfrey!”
I see him being one of the most exciting pitchers in the game for many years to come.

~Sam

