I know I said I would post photos and a recap the following day (Monday), but I didn’t.  Deal with it.  I’m here now, and I’m going to start with my Twitter updates throughout the day.  If you read closely into each Tweet you’ll see sobriety slowly fading away…

  • Best Bastille Day party I’ve seen since I moved here 7 years ago
    8:29 PM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Sheet faced.
    5:49 PM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Watching the action from my fire escape. Wish I had a roof deck.
    1:37 PM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Enjoying a delicious sausage & pepper sandwich from Apt 138 and a cup o’ white sangria!
    1:15 PM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • It’s hot and it’s getting crowded. How long before the hipsters arive?
    12:11 PM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Lillet in da house…& they’re giving away free hats.
    12:03 PM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Pizza by Lunetta!
    11:59 AM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • One Girl Cookies setting up shop!
    11:52 AM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • I hear a full orchestra playing the French national anthem. Gonna guess it’s the DJ again.
    11:35 AM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Apt 138 is grilling up burgers, dogs, and sausage w/cans of PBR.
    11:22 AM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • The games have begun!
    11:18 AM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Bastille Day Update-the DJ is rolling, and the tables are set. Almost time for pentaque!
    11:12 AM Jul 12th from TwitterBerry
  • Crabapple – TODAY! Bastille Day Festivities on Smith Street: Today marks the annual Bastille Day cele.. http://tinyurl.com/l7yh5u 10:18 AM Jul 12th from twitterfeed
  • Eating Brooklyn – TODAY! Bastille Day Festivities on Smith Street: Michael Arenella graphic t.. http://tinyurl.com/nnfqtt
    9:48 AM Jul 12th from twitterfeed

The day was hot.  HOT!  There was lots of booze flowing around the street.  I was clever, and made my own drinks upstairs and brought them down.  My favorite for the day was a mixture of Lillet, gin, lemon juice, and seltzer.  I need a name for it.

I didn’t pay much attention to the Pentaque games, but they looked fun. 

I got a free fedora from Lillet, and some weird desert hat from Ricard.  I haven’t worn either since that day.

The hipsters arrived around 1:00 PM.  See my Flickr feed for some colorful commentary.

Some friends came by who brought other friends who brought even more friends, and at some point we all ended up in my apartment watching from the fire escape.  I introduced myself to people in my own bedroom.  It’s been at least 4 years since that has happened…

Finished the day with some Indian food (may not have been the best idea) and a pint of True Blood.

Check out my photos on Flickr.

~Sam

