Los PollitosLos Pollitos II Rotisserie Chicken
Authentic Mexican & Latin Cuisine
148 5th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11217
718-623-9152
718-623-3065

{Google Maps}

FREE DELIVERY!
Credit Cards Accepted

In less than one week I will be in Mexico sipping margaritas and palomas, feasting on local cuisine, swimming with dolphins, and oh yeah, getting married. Thank you. You’re too kind. But yesterday even though the air was brisk and slightly damp, Kristina (the wife-to-be) and I thought it may be a nice idea to walk to Park Slope in search of some lunch (NOT BRUNCH!). We hit 5thAvenue, which in many ways is a lot like Smith Street – including many of the same restaurants – and decided to prelude our trip with a little authentic Mexican. Los Pollitos II looked authentic enough for us!

At 3:00 in the afternoon with football in full swing only two other tables were occupied. This is often a deterrent, but the aromas told us it was probably safe. The space is decorated to look like traditional Mexican. I think it’s a little over the top, but I’ve certainly seen worse. The menu offers authentic Mexican as well as some other Latin American dishes including their signature rotisserie chicken. While tempting, my mind was set on Mexican. I’m not typically a burrito kind of guy – feeling this is Tex-Mex rather than real Mexican – and opted for a more traditional dish. We started with a bowl of Pozole soup and a plate of nachos. Pozole is a traditional pre-Colombian soup or stew. It is made from hominy, with meat (their version has pork), chili pepper, and other seasonings and garnish. Vegetarian and Vegan versions also exist. It is tasty. It warms the soul especially on a chilly day. We thought it could have used a little more “kick” but were not dissatisfied in the least. The nachos came on a small plate. They’re covered liberally with cheese, drizzled with sour cream, and garnished with a dollop of guacamole and three red peppers. Normally I find nachos to be greasy, and I’m left feeling guilty about eating them. I did not feel that here. The chips were surprisingly un-greasy, the toppings light enough to flavor the chips, but not overwhelm, and the addition of the peppers – just divine!

For our main entrees (I know, sounds like a lot but we had cereal for dinner) Kristina got a roast pork grilled sopes which is a large homemade corn tortilla topped with refried beans, cheese, onions, lettuce, and tomatillo sauce. The dish is a good size in itself, does not require sides, and was not finished by Kristina. I tried a bite. It is quite good. I ordered a roast pork dish that came with rice & beans. The pork is slow roasted, and was topped with very mild red onions, cilantro, and a squeeze of lime. I would call the flavor well rounded. Extremely satisfying. Just enough spice. Delicious! They do something to their refried beans too that just blows my mind! First, they’re refried BLACK beans. Second, I think they put chocolate in the pot. They posses a distinct chocolate undertone which adds to the richness of the dish. It is sublime!

Next week I’ll be feasting on the real deal, but for now and going forward I’d be happy to call Los Pollitos the next best thing.

