Anyone who is a pet owner knows that when you take a pet, be it a dog, cat, bird, snake, etc. into your home, and into your life that that pet becomes not only a part of your home, but a part of your family, a part of your life, a part of your heart.  Any pet owner also knows that the thought of losing your pet, no matter how long you’ve had them, or how many pets have come before this one, that the feeling would be like losing any other cherished member of the family.

This morning, my friend and teacher, and fellow writer Sarah Grace McCandless lost her dog, Awesome-O.  He was only two years old, but unfortunately very sick.  Sarah cared very deeply for this pup – I’d never seen any one person blog as much about their animals as she did. 

I never had the pleasure of meeting Awesome-O, but I feel like I knew him.  He will be missed by all who knew him, and then some.

Awesome O
2007 – 2010

~Sam

