Kyoto – Japanese Fusion Sushi
115 Smith Steet
Brooklyn, NY 11201
718.522.5888

{Google Maps | Flickr Set | Website}

Kyoto sushi is a tough sell.  Ki sushi, probably one of the nicest, and tastiest sushi restaurants is located right across the street in what iswithout a doubt a nicer location.  But today I wasn’t in the mood for fancy sushi.  I wanted a simple, inexpensive, tasty lunch…and that’s what I got.

2-Roll Lunch Special

Kyoto’s lunch specials are a fantastic deal.  For $8 plus tax you can get any two rolls (about 26 to choose from) served with your choice of soup or salad, shumai (2 deep fried shrimp dumplings), edamame (whole soy beans steamed & salted), and chunked pineapple for dessert.

The fish is fresh.  The rolls are made well, and the sauces are extremely tasty.  The ginger dressing provided on the side for the salad is nothing short of perfect.  I love me a good shrimp dumpling, but would have preferred them to be steamed.  The edamame is also very good, but seemed to be a bit overcooked in that they were very soft.  I didn’t care much for the pineapple – it tasted like it came from a can.  That’s not to say it did, or that it was bad though.  I could have just been full. 

Steamed Edamame

Other lunch options include sushi & sashimi lunch – various sushi or sashimi combinations without the distractions of salad or dumplings.  There’s also the classic lunch box – hot dishes like tempura, teriyaki, and negimaki all served with rice, shumai, California Roll, soup, AND salad all for $9. 

Delivery is free, and you can even place your order on their website.  I will return to Kyoto, and maybe even for dinner.  Perhaps I’ll even try the Lunch Box.

