Stubb's President & CEO Kurt Koegler With Rocky Stubblefield

This past weekend I attended New York’s Big Apple BBQ festival, and had the distinct honor of chatting with Rocky Stubblefield, the grandson of the famous CB “Stubb” Stubblefield, of Stubb’s BBQ in Austin, TX. 

Rocky and company President and CEO Kurt Koegler were in town not only for the festival, but as a stop on their The 2ndAnnual Stubb’s “Feed the World” TourRocky was kind enough to step away from the BBQ pit for a few minutes to answer what I consider to be 5 (6) very important questions:

Eating Everywhere– As the grandson of CB Stubblefeld you carry a large legacy.  Are you ever experimented with the recipes on your own, or have you kept them the same?

Rocky Stubblefield – We wouldn’t change his recipes.  Maybe one day I’ll try to do something for myself, but like you said he left a great legacy and we want to keep it the way he wanted it.  It’s doing great as it is; we don’t want to tempt fate.

EE – You’re in your second year of your Feed The World Tour, which is pretty amazing.  How many meals did you serve this year at the Bowery Mission (in NYC)?

RS – That was actually one of our smaller missions; I think we only did about 200 there.  Usually it’s from 200 on the low side, but we’ve served up to 1,000 meals in one day at a mission in Dallas, TX.  We go all over the country.  My granddad always said, “I was born hungry. I want to feed the world,” so we just continued what he started.  In his restaurant he actually gave away more food than he sold because if somebody was hungry he’d just feed them.

EE – What made you turn your grandfather’s concept of feeding the world into what it is today?

RS – The country was coming off hard times with the recession, and we just wanted to give back; help people out.  We noticed it wasn’t just homeless persons; it was entire families affected.  Our company was doing well, and this was our way of giving back to the community.

EE – What does a nationally renowned brand like Stubb’s stand to gain from participating in an event like The Big Apple BBQ?

RS – We are a national company, but a lot of people have come up and said, “I’ve never heard of Stubb’s”  So this is a way to get out name out there more, and we’re again giving back to the community.  Everything we’re doing here today is free; free chopped beef sandwiches, free sausage…just giving back.

EE – What’s next on the horizon for Stubb’s?

RS – We have two new flavor (sauces) we just released earlier this year.  We have a Honey Pecan BBQ Sauce which is a sweeter sauce, and a Hickory Bourbon BBQ Sauce which is also a sweeter sauce.  Our main sauces since day 1 were tomato-vinegar based with our Mild, Original, & Spicy.  A lot of people like sweet, so we delivered.

EE – What do you consider to be the Stubb’s signature dish? And which is your favorite to eat?

RS – My favorite is the ribs, of course which also happens to be our number 1 seller made with our original sauce.  When you go to the sweeter sauces they’re probably better on ribs or chicken, but Original is pretty much good on everything.

http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649
Ok, so it was six questions, but to be fair the second question about the tour wasn’t planned.

Rocky talked up the sauces and meats so much that it would have been a crime for me to leave without sampling some of the goods.  I tried the pulled beef sandwich which was so tender it nearly fell apart in my hands.  Rocky stood by as I licked my fingers, then dug into the sausage.  I am a big fan of BBQ sausage as is, but Rocky insisted I try it with some sauce.  I chose the spicy and, oh yes!  Oh, yes!  I also managed to give the new Honey Pecan a try on some chicken a couple days later.  To be honest, I’ll find it hard to buy other BBQ sauces.

Stubb’s Bar-B-Q is located in Austin, TX.

Stubb’s sauces can be found in grocery stores nationwide.

