Lewis’ Bar & Grill
92 Central Street
Norwood, MA 02062
(781) 762-8928

{Google Maps | Website}      

Lewis’ Bar & Grill is one of those places that’s been there forever, but if you’re not from the town of Norwood, MA you’ve probably never heard of it.  It wasn’t even on the list of eateries at my hotel (5 minutes from Lewis’), but the girl at the front desk was able to confirm that the placed I had picked to eat dinner was, in fact a “pretty cool place.”  It was an interesting pick, for sure.  Internet stories of it being a real “townie” place left me fearful that my car with its’ New York license plates would be destroyed by angry Red Sox fans (and I’m not even a Yankees fan!) 

Sam Adams Summer Ale - As Local as it Gets!

My reservations subsided, however when I saw Lewis’ standing at the end of a quiet, tree-lined block in what appears to be a sleepy little Massachusetts town.  I walked in past a door leading to a bar area, and sat at another bar in the back restaurant area.  It was a Wednesday night – day after the All Star Game – nothing on TV, nice & quiet.

I ordered a Sam Adams Summer Ale – one of the best summer ales on the market – and perused the menu.  They have typical bar food – and lots of choices.  When in New England I like to try a restaurant’s clam chowder.  NE restaurants pride themselves on their chowder (pronounced CHOW-DAH), and who am I to deny them their satisfaction?  It was a burger kind of night for me, so I figured I’d try the house burger – The Lewis’ Burger for $8.95.  This signature sandwich is a big sucker topped with mayo, lettuce, tomato, ham, & egg salad.  WHAT??  Yep, you read that correctly.  It was the most talked about entree on the “other” Internet review sites, so I figured it might be good.

New England Clam Chowdah!

The chowder came first.  It was thick and creamy, and slightly sweet.  And for those of you who may be wondering, their chowder is the white.  You NEVER get the red north of NYC. 

The burger is pretty big.  The first bite took me to another planet where flavor rules, and low calorie diets are illegal.  The egg salad adds a nice tang and creaminess.  No need for any other condiments.  Halfway through I remembered it had ham on it too.  The taste of the ham seems to get lost amongst the other pieces of the sandwich.  The beef patty though could stand alone.

The Lewis' Burger

I had another beer and chatted with Chris, the bartender for a little while.  Apparently, had I chosen to eat up front  in the original bar (the back restaurant was added much later) the burgers are even better – in his humble opinion, and they’re cooked right in front of you.  I can’t say I was disappointed in my meal, but that could have been fun to watch.

The burger, soup, and two beers cost me around $27 with tip; not a bad price for a fantastic meal in a pleasant setting.  On my way out I peeked into the front bar again.  It’s a cool looking place – and if this was about history and/or interiors I would have stayed longer.  But I had places to be, and I was full, and very satisfied.

 

 

