Crabby Dick’s
18831 Coastal Highway
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-6153
(302) 645-9132

{Google Maps | Website}‎

Maryland is known for crabs.  To eat Maryland fresh cracked crab or crabcakes is to taste crab as it was intended to taste.  It’s known nationwide like Maine Lobster, Texas beef, & Berkshire pork (which originated from England, not the Berkshire Mountains – but work with me here!)  A few miles north, however lies a small state (the first, in fact) that tends to be overlooked for its pristine beaches, lively boardwalks, and towns like Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, and Bethany Beach, which contain a plethora of fresh seafood restaurants like Crabby Dick’s.

My in-laws told us we’d probably think it’s too touristy – and touristy it is.  You walk in to an enormous gift shop filled with crab inspired t-shirts, wall hangings, mugs, magnets, caps, and towels, etc – some with the Crabby Dick’s logo, some with the girl version (Anita Dick), and others that plainly ask, “Got Crabs…?”  The crab fan that I am I was tempted to buy one of everything, and may have followed through had my more sensible half not looked at me as if to say, “why do we need crab salt & pepper shakers?”  It was decided that some photos, plus a crabby meal would be enough.

Sitting down to eat in a restaurant like Crabby Dick’s you expect a decent meal – at least something freshly caught with mediocre sides, and some cold beer.  What we got, however was a fantastic meal – big, meaty, sweet, fresh crab legs dipped in the most perfect clarified butter, and washed down with ice cold Shock Top beer.  Even the starter Crab Balls – mini crab cakes, and Corn Balls – mini, creamy corn fritters blew me away.  And the oysters?  Don’t get me started.  Fresh, meaty, briny, plump, perfectly cold…I love oysters!  Plus, they start you out with a basket of Old Bay seasoned popcorn.  I love Old Bay too!!  There were six of us at the table, and each of us was happy…no, ecstatic over our meals.  One person ordered a combo pot of crab legs and shrimp, and couldn’t finish her shrimp, so guess who did…me!  And the shrimp were awesome – lightly dusted in Old Bay, perfectly sweet with a bit of a snap – the way shrimp should be.

We opted against dessert even though the gigantic brownie with whipped cream tower that the three cougars at the neighboring table had looked delicious, and they do serve key lime pie, we were all just stuffed to the gills.

It may be in my best interest on my next trip to Lewes to seek out a place more off the main drag, but I would go back to Crabby Dick’s in a heartbeat…and I’d buy the salt & pepper shakers too!

[imagebrowser id=15]

Crabby Dick’s can also be enjoyed at:
30 Clinton Street
Fort Delaware
Delaware City, DE
302-832-5100

&
PORT TOBACCO MARINA
7536 Shirley Blvd
Port Tobacco, MD
301-392-0007

