Jerry’s Seafood
108 E. second Street
Lewes, DE 19958
302-645-6611

{Google Maps | Website}

In my opinion, when going to a coastal beach town where the seafood is supposedly caught fresh daily, one would expect that their meal in most locally owned and run places would be top notch.  Unfortunately for downtown Lewes, DE Jerry’s Seafood falls considerably short.

Seven adults and two children were seated at a table nearest the door to the kitchen.  In all fairness, my wife & I arrived later, but still who puts two small kids near the kitchen door?  I saw lots of empty oyster shells being brought back, so my assumption was that they must be good.  WRONG!  The seven meaty oysters tasted just short of fresh.  Nobody else at the table wanted any part of them.  I struggled to get most of them down, but eventually gave up.

They have Samuel Adams Summer Ale on tap which was a nice way to wash away the taste of the oysters.  I’ll reiterate the fact that my wife & I arrived after the rest of the table and also ordered after the rest of the table, yet for some reason we got our entrees first.  Normally I’d laugh this off, but there my two hungry nephews were waiting patiently for their food too.

I got their famous crab cake sandwich with pasta salad for a measly $16 (sarcasm.)  The pasta salad was decent, but the crab cake was hit and miss.  Some bites tasted great, others tasted like defrosted fake crab.  Confusing, and not enjoyable.  My wife seemed to be enjoying her mixed green salad, while I supplemented my sandwich with some of my nephew’s fried shrimp – which, by the way may not have been shrimp at all.

After our plates were cleared the checks were brought out broken up by couple/family (I guess my in-laws requested this earlier?) with 20% gratuity added to each check.  The service was poor.  The food was sub par.  At best I would have given them a 15% tip.  I do not like being forced into giving any tip at all.  Leaves a bad taste in my mouth – not unlike the oysters.

My wife’s family rents a house in Lewes every summer.  We will return next summer, but you can rest assured we’ll be skipping Jerry’s.

