I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a Scrooge.  I’ve always found the holiday season to be a bit forced, and kind of let down.  However, since marrying a Catholic I’ve grown to appreciate it more – especially the excitement at my in-laws’ house Christmas morning when the nephews come over and tear into their gifts.  The food is great too, and my father-in-law always gets me a case of Sam Adams seasonal beers. 

One thing I still can’t wrap my Jewish heart around is the music.  It’s The Most Wonderful Time of The Year has to be one of the most irritating songs ever recorded.  Paul McCartney’s Simply Having A Wonderful Christmas Time makes me want to punch a nun.  But there are a select few – some popular, some more obscure that I actually enjoy listening to.  Here are a few of them:

The Ramones – Merry Christmas, I Don’t Want to Fight Tonight

A great song from one of my two all-time favorite bands, this is typical Ramones humor.

Morphine – Sexy Christmas Baby Mine

This is my other all-time favorite band, Morphine.  Not sure who compiled the motel images for the video, but it works.  Morphine always did things a bit unconventionally, and this song is no different.  It’s not jolly, not happy – the way the season feels for many. Good stuff.

The Pogues – Fairytale of New York

This is a live version of this gem the Pogues recorded with Kirsty MacColl.  It’s a beautiful song until she calls him, “you scumbag, you maggot, you cheap, lousy faggot!”  But even then the song is still fantastic.  Perfect for enjoying a few pints in the pub with friends.

The Waitresses – Christmas Wrapping

Listen to the lyrics.  This is a pretty funny song.

RUN-DMC – Christmas in Hollis

Sorry about the ad at the beginning of this video.  I guess YouTube needs to make money somehow.  I loved the video for this song when it came out in the 80’s.  I still love it today.

Billy Mack – Christmas is All Around

Ok, so maybe this isn’t a real Christmas song, but for anyone who has seen and enjoys Love Actually (yeah, I do – you got a problem with that?) will agree that the movie wouldn’t have been the same without Uncle Bill telling us, “Don’t buy drugs. Become a pop star, and they give them to you for free!”

Happy Holidays!

