I’m inspired daily by style I see on the street, on TV, on Tumblr, in magazines, etc.  Most style I choose to write about has to do with clothing and shoes, etc.  However, I am also inspired daily by people’s homes, restaurant interiors, and retail stores.  Sometimes this inspiration comes from photos, and often from seeing these places first hand. 

Over the next few weeks, I plan to post images that have inspired me in plans to redo my apartment, or to furnish and decorate my future apartment or house.  My wife and I will consult on most rooms with her opinions and tastes (which aren’t that different from mine) having the greatest influence, though for those room(s) that will be designated as MINE I will have the final say.  At present, I use our 2nd bedroom as my home office/storage room.  My closet is also in this room.  The furniture, at present consists of a desk, a hutch, a small couch, a side table, a couple lamps, CD towers (yep!), and three book shelves.  I have the room decorated with random framed posters, framed original photos, and other random bric-a-brac.  I have collected many of the framed art pieces over the course of the last 10+ years, and would continue to hang this in a new space.  But should I have extra space, or one day an extra room I have plenty more ideas for what I could hang.

The image above is from a series of City Neighborhood Posters from Ork Posters.  The Brooklyn screen print in navy is $22.  This would pay homage to the borough that has been my home for the better part of the past decade.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a James Bond fanatic.  The above image is one I found on Tumblr depicting the evolution of James Bond actors from Sean Connery to Daniel Craig.  I have not found this to be available anywhere yet as a full-size poster, but I would buy it in a second if I did find it.  If you know of where to purchase this or any of the poster that will follow, please do not hesitate to tell me.

There’s nothing wrong with a little inspiration in the morning, and this series available through the Etsy Keep Calm online shop would fit the bill perfectly.  Plus, I like the green.

Speaking of obsessions (was I speaking of obsessions?) I grew up one of the biggest Star Wars fans in my house – meaning, everyone I knew loved Star Wars.  Star Wars is one of those trilogies (the originals) that will never look old to me.  I started seeing travel posters for various Star Wars locales not long ago.  This one, advertising the exotic deserts of Tatooine (Luke Skywalker’s home planet) is available online through Zazzle for about $25.  It’s a subtle, and somewhat classy tribute to the Holy Trilogy.

 

This image is a play on the Rhode Island state anchor…or any anchor, really.  I’ve spent a number of summer weekends in Newport, RI, and plan to retire there one day assuming I can afford to retire when I reach the appropriate age, but who are we kidding?  Our generation will be the first that literally works itself into the grave.  I mean, I will probably have to put in extra hours at some point just to pay for the casket.  But until that time, a boy can certainly dream.  I have not seen this image for sale anywhere, but would be interested in finding it.

For the final poster, we tackle one of my other obsessions, Guinness stout.  These, or others like it are available everywhere in various sizes and price points.  No sense in listing them all.  I spent a few days back in 2009 in Dublin and had the chance to visit the Guinness factory.  It was one of the greatest moments of my life.  If you like Guinness, but have never tried it at the Guinness factory, then you need to make that journey.  My relaying of the wonder that is the Guinness factory does not do it any justice.  A poster like this one would be a pleasant reminder of that magical day.  Perhaps I will wait to purchase the poster until the next time I visit Dublin.  Oh yes, there will be a next time.

~Sam

