One of those pieces that has become ubiquitous with modern preppy style, and has reared its head across the blogosphere this season is the oxford pullover, or popover.  Personally, I just can’t get behind this look.  It reminds me of something I would have worn as a child.  And at nearly 34 years old, having put a lot of effort into dressing like an adult I have no intention of regressing now…

Every shirt maker from GANT Rugger (top) to J.Crew (above) and Brooks Brothers (below) seems to be producing the shirt this season.  It is essentially a button-down oxford-cloth shirt that you put on like a knit polo (or a rugby) since it only buttons to about 2-3 inches above the navel.  It can be worn tucked in or not, dressed up or down.

Personally, I just don’t see the point.  It is not a flattering look.  I have seen it on numerous guys, and while some pull it off better than others, I just generally don’t like the it.  Of course, this is just my opinion.  I would never try to tell anyone what they should or shouldn’t wear – unless you’re toying with the idea of acid washed jeans and hypercolor t-shirts – then, I may have to say something.  But while I spend most of my time writing about the stuff I do like, I just thought I would throw in something I question.

What are your thoughts on the shirt?

~Sam

