I recently asked my readers on my Tumblr whether or not I should purchase the shirt shown above from Fifth & Brannan, the shirt label started by Katie Wintrode of San Francisco, CA.  The shirt was 20% off, and is something I’ve been looking at for a while, so I decided to pull the trigger.

The shirt came yesterday.  It’s a beautiful shirt.  I ordered a size 41 as the neck was listed at 16 1/2 which is my usual neck size.  I expected the sleeves to be on the long side (which they are) as I have rather short arms.  What I didn’t expect, however was the lack of any breathing room in the mid section.  I have to give a good suck in to get the damn thing to button.  It buttoned; and if I chose to suck it the gut all day (after shortening the sleeves, of course) I could probably get away with wearing it.  But that’s not fun.  That’s not comfortable.

I thought about returning the shirt, but it broke my heart to do so, and I definitely would have felt defeated.  Instead, at that moment I decided I would get my weight loss plan back into full gear, and get this shirt to fit properly.  I need to lose 15+ pounds.  My goal is to wear this shirt on or before New Years Eve – comfortably; without sucking in.  I go to the gym almost every day – this shouldn’t be so hard to do.  I know my weaknesses.  I know what I need to do:

  1. Hit the gym 4-5 days per week.
  2. Cut down on the calorie intake.
  3. Afternoon snacking – drink more water, and if I need a snack to eat fruit and vegetables.
  4. Evening snacking – stop at one small piece of chocolate after dinner.
  5. Booze – weekdays 0-1, weekends go easier; I’m not 25 anymore.
  6. Meals – balanced, and healthy.  I’m going to slip every once in a while.  There’s no need to completely deprive myself either.  That won’t help me lose weight.  I just need to be smarter about what I eat, and the amount I eat.
I can do this.  I am determined.  I’ve had reasons to lose the weight all along, and I’ve just added one more.  I plan to update you, my readers once a week with a photo of my belly in the shirt.  If you haven’t seen a new post by each Thursday afternoon, call me out on it.  Everyone can use a cheering section now and then, and that is what I’m asking you all to do.  Thank you!

