The new year is fast approaching, and my winter vacation starts in two days.  I have a lot to be thankful for this year – my health, my family, my friends, and my wife and I finally being employed at the same time; working for good companies, and feeling pretty good about it.

Last year around this time I gave you a number of lists  – best movies, music, women, etc of 2010.  Luckily I’ve been way too busy to think about those things this year.  But what I haven’t been too busy to do is to think about what I MUST do in the new year to make 2012 even better than 2011.

Without further ado, I give you my list of resolutions for 2012:

  1. Lose weight
  2. Slim down
  3. Trim the fat
  4. Eat less
  5. Drink less
  6. Exercise more
  7. Finish any one (or more) of the many stories I’ve started writing
  8. Spend less time reading stupid, misguided mens’ style blogs – just stick to the good ones, if I MUST continue to read them…which I know I will
  9. Repurpose both Crabapple & Cut + Basted
  10. Read more classic fiction
  11. Read more new fiction
  12. Read more non-fiction
  13. Read more newspapers
  14. Go somewhere awesome (like Israel, Thailand, Peru, or Montana)
  15. Keep a journal
  16. Take great pictures
  17. Write more fiction
  18. Really clean our my closet and pitch stuff that I never wear, will never wear, or was just a bad idea
  19. Sell some of it on eBay
  20. Donate the rest
  21. Clean out my office
  22. Rearrange the pictures on the walls
  23. Dust
  24. Paint
  25. Call my grandmother more often
  26. And my parents
  27. And my inlaws once in a while
  28. Spend more time outside
  29. Going to parks
  30. And playing sports
  31. Lose the gut
  32. Write a lot
  33. Work smarter
  34. Enjoy it all!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!  HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

