I’ve gone and done something dramatic this week.  I signed up for Weight Watchers for Men.  I guess I was inspired by Charles Barkley and his Man Food commercial (below).  The benefit of using this system over say just winging it on my own is that since I enter everything I eat, and it’s based on a point scale, I really exercise portion control.  I only started last Saturday, so I can’t say whether or not I love this program yet, but so far it’s not so bad.  Four of the beers I enjoy drinking most are only 1 – 3 points each, and based on my 40 points per day allotment, I can enjoy a couple beers on a night out.

I’m still working with a trainer once a month, though I think that after my six month program ends, I will go back to doing it on my own.  The sessions we have are great, but the exercises don’t translate well for me to do on a weekly basis; especially when I am traveling.  Most hotel gyms are marginal at best, and I am barely able to get in 20 minutes before becoming frustrated.

I am happy by my progress thus far.  190.9 was a surprise for me this morning.  I was figuring I’d be at 192.  This is good.  I plan to continue to make changes as needed so I can continue to lose and keep it off.  I need to be much closer to 180 by February 21st when I leave for a sales conference in Fort Lauderdale.  The following week we go to Las Vegas for Global Shop, and I need to be comfortable in my suits.  Right now I’m still struggling with the fit, but shedding another 6+ pounds should help.  I think I can do it.  No, I know I can.

