HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!   I’m happy today for a number of reasons.  For starters, I’m kicking off my seventh week of my diet – six weeks in, and I’ve lost a total of 13.9 pounds.  That’s an average of 2.3 pounds per week – just above what Weight Watchers considers to be healthy weight loss.  This past week alone, I dropped 3.1 pounds.  I do realize this is not normal.  I should be losing closer to 2 per week, but I’ll take it.  I have conquered my initial goal of 185, and I’m still going.  My second goal was to be close to 180 by the time I left for Florida, one week from today.  I think I will be close.  If I had to guess, I’d say I weight in at around 182.6 next week.

If you click on the Operation Trim page above, I have posted my main photo from every week starting on January 2nd.   As I look at each photo I can really see the difference; especially when comparing January 2nd and today.  My double chin has decreased significantly.  My shoulders and chest look more defined.  And my belly is hanging less over my belt.  Kristina thinks my ultimate goal of 165 will leave me looking too skinny.  So I told her I would level off once the belly fat recedes to where it is no longer hanging over the belt at all.

The beauty of doing all of this with Weight Watchers is I’m still eating pretty much what I want; just not as much of it.  Last week I ate lamb chops, risotto, guacamole, ice cream, pork chops, bacon, these unreal French Toast-like things from this place, Scratch Bread in Brooklyn, and even had a few beers, and scotch.  But at no point during the week did I feel bloated, or overly full.  I’ve also been making a concerted effort to fill up on fruit and vegetables, and drinking lots of water.

Kristina and I are planning our first real vacation since our honeymoon two years ago, most likely to one of the Caribbean islands.  We intend to go in May, at which point I intend to have reached my goal of 165-170.  Even men want to look good in a bathing suit…

