It’s been an interesting first 7 weeks of this transformation.  I’ve lost weight every wek until this one.  Gaining 1.3 pounds is not the end of the world, but it does tell me that I need to make some adjustments.  Perhaps I relaxed too much last week in my eating.  I ate dim sum, a burger, fries, a big Sunday breakfast, and pasta.  Plus I drank…and probably too much.  At least it’s not a completely ridiculous gain.  I can easily get back on track this week.

The good news is I’m still right about where I wanted to be by the time I left for Florida this afternoon.  Now, this is not a vanity trip.  I will not be lounging by the pool.  I don’t care about how I look in a swim suit…yet.  This is about setting goals, sticking to the plan, and meeting those goals.

My goal was to have been at 180 by now.  I’m not disappointed with my progress though.  I feel better than I have felt in a long time.  I think I look better.  My clothes are fitting better.  Between joining Weight Watchers, working out with a trainer once a month, lifting weights 2-3 times a week, and running another 2-3 I am on my way to meeting my ultimate goals.

Memorial Day Weekend is 14 weeks away.  That means I have 14 weeks to lose another 19 or so pounds.   I think this is very achievable.  The trick, however will be to maintain that weight (give or take 5 pounds here and there) through the summer, baseball games, vacation, and ultimately through the holiday season.  I refuse to begin 2013 close to 200 pounds again.  And with the continued support of my friends and family – your comments on this blog, and on Facebook have been very encouraging – I feel I can and will do it.

