Last week I was hungry.  I was hungry partially in the sense that I was really stoked about my progress with running, and ended up registering for two races (more about that later.)  But I also mean it in the literal sense.  Last week, I just did not want to stop eating.  I just never felt satisfied.  Perhaps my metabolism is starting to increase again?  How cool would that be?  Whatever the cause, the effect was I wanted to eat, so I ate, and you know what?  I lost another .2 lbs.  Not great, but considering what I ate, I’m happy to have lost anything at all!

Over the past 12 weeks of this diet I have gone through a lot of trial and error.  I started the diet without Weight Watchers and was much less successful.  But since I started monitoring my meals and snacks I have not only lost more weight, but have figured out what I enjoy most, and what keeps me most satisfied.  For anyone reading this that might be looking for some simple meal tips, I hereby offer to you a typical day of meals in the life of Sam…

Morning
1 soft-boiled egg
1-2** sliced of multigrain toast with butter
1/2 cup blueberries, strawberries, or raspberries, or a banana
Black coffee
**If I have a second slice of toast, I will usually put a little cream cheese and some blackberry preserves on it.

Midday
Sandwich with 3 slices of ham or turkey, 1 slice of cheese, lettuce, tomato
1/2 cup baby carrots
2 small chocolate mints from Trader Joe’s
Seltzer

Evening
4-6 oz chicken, fish, pork, or lean beef
Salad with romaine or arugula, tomatoes, carrots, cucumber, dried cranberries, pine nuts, and gorgonzola cheese with a little Italian dressing
Cooked Vegetable such as green beans, brussels sprouts, baby broccoli, etc
Light beer
1 cup of vanilla ice cream, 2 cookies, or Weight Watchers ice cream bar

Anytime
1 large grapefruit – around 10:30 AM
1-2 small apples – around 3:00 PM
Decaf coffee or herbal tea – around 9:30 PM
Fruit of any kind is a great snack.  If you’re on Weight Watchers they are zero points. 

All Day
Water – just keep drinking all day long

Of course, sometimes I will have a slice of pizza or a burger for lunch.  I’m human.  I have normal cravings.  But I’ll have ONE slice of pizza and a side salad.  Two weeks ago I went to Shake Shack and got a cheeseburger, but did not get fries.  I didn’t even want fries.  If I’m on the road, and the only place to eat is McDonald’s, I get the classic grilled chicken sandwich without mayo, and some mustard or BBQ sauce on the side.  And some nights I have a few drinks.  But not every night.

It really is that simple, and like I said last week since I am looking at this as a lifestyle change rather than as a diet, I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything.  I still get to enjoy all of my favorite foods without gorging in an unhealthy way.  And when I have the occasional slip up where I destroy a half bag of Doritos, so be it.  We all have weaknesses.

