I had a minor setback last week (which actually must have started the week prior.)  While running on a weird elliptical at a hotel, I felt a little discomfort in my right ankle.  I didn’t think much of it at the time.  This was a Thursday.  The following Saturday I went for a long run.  After the run I felt some strain in my left hamstring, and the right ankle hurt like hell.  I thought I’d twisted it or sprained it.  Last week I decided to stay off it.  I gave my legs a rest with the exception of 30 minutes on the elliptical at my gym one day.  With a mix of icing, Advil, and rest both legs started to feel better by the end of the week.  On Saturday I attempted a 3.5 mile run.  My hamstring felt fine, but by the end my ankle was barking.  There’s no bruising, no swelling, just pain and the occasional “snapping” of the tendon.  I honestly have no idea what I did.

Sunday we had rain, and yesterday I did the elliptical.  No pain.  I will attempt a 5 mile run tomorrow.  I like the Wednesday afternoon runs.  Going out around 5:00 the streets in my neighborhood are fairly empty.  It’s just the beginning of rush hour, and most people are either in the subway, or on the BQE.  Anyway, the whole minor injury thing made me realize that some weeks I need to take it down a notch.  I have been working out a lot; especially running.  I hate lifting weights.  I hate being in the gym.  It’s a necessary part of fitness training, I know, but I still don’t like it.  I enjoy the solitude of putting on my headphones and going for a solo run.  It’s a great workout, and it’s relaxing at the same time.  I wish I’d started years ago.  Oh, did I mention I lost another 1/2 pound?  Not a great week, but considering I couldn’t run at all, I’ll take it.

Here’s the good news – last week, I was in Manhattan and passed the Levis store.  Normally I don’t bother going in because I have enough jeans, but lately my 501’s bad felt kind of baggy.  Levis was offering 30% off many styles, so I figured I’d give it a try.  I decided to try the 514’s which are straight like the 501’s, but are slimmer and have a zip fly.  I have no interest in wearing “skinny” jeans ever.  Slim I can handle.  I tried them on in my normal size, 34 x 30, and you know what?  They were too big.  I was elated when the 33 x 30’s fit perfectly.  So, naturally I bought them.  They’re a dark raw finish, but not selvedge.  I don’t bother with selvedge.  I should have bought a second pair in a slightly distressed finish.  I may go back this week and pick up a pair.  And who knows, I may be heading back in a couple of months to buy 32’s.  But let’s not get ahead of ourselves, right?  Baby steps.

I’m just over 10 lbs away from my goal of 165.  This weekend I join my fraternity brothers for our 45th anniversary alumni weekend.  There will be beer, and cold cheese pizza, and greasy spoon diners.  Will I indulge?  Absolutely!  Will I overdo it?  I don’t plan on it.  165, here I come!

