One day I may proclaim that I think J.Crew has “jumped the shark” with some of their recent menswear designs, but the next day I can guarantee I’m dressed head to toe in items I have acquired from them over the last few seasons.  It is what it is.  I like what I like.  So, here I am featuring J.Crew again with a kit I like to call Summer Friday.

It’s a privilege of living the American Dream that between Memorial Day & Labor Day weekends, we leave work a little early on Fridays with the intention of getting out fo town for a few days.  This may be to the Hamptons, Newport, Maine, The Jersey Shore, a lake house, a beach house, or just a friend’s house.  Dressing and packing for these Fridays requires minimal effort, and only a few basics to get you through the weekend.

I’ve assembled a group of items that I would wear (and pack) for such a Friday.  As it turns out, I work from home most days, and would never need to do this exactly as shown, but sometimes I just like to pretend.

clockwise from top left…

Jacket | Linen herringbone sportcoat in Ludlow fit $325, Shirt | Indian cotton shirt in Kendrick plaid $75, Bag | Abingdon duffle weekender $188, Pocket Square | Two-tone linen pocket square Classic Navy $39.50, Kindle Case | Colored DODOcase™ for J.Crew for Kindle $35, Belt | Braided cotton belt $39.50, Shoes | Alden® for J.Crew limited-edition flex-toe navy suede chukkas $515, Pants | Lightweight Essex pant in urban slim fit $75, Socks | Corgi™ lightweight pattern socks $28, Sunglasses | Ray-Ban® Legends aviator sunglasses $160

Other items I might pack in the bag…

1 pair ofshorts, 1 polo, 2 t-shirts, 1 oxford shirt, 1 pair flip-flops, 1 swim suit, 1 pair Sperry’s, sweatshirt, packable rain anorak, underwear, 1 beach towel, dopp kit with basics and sunblock, hat, & athletic gear including shorts, t-shirt, underwear, socks, & sneakers.

Enjoy the weekend!

