I did it – I finished my first 10K.  Total time (according to RunKeeper) was 57:42 for 6.3 miles.  This is about as far as I’ve run to this point, and about as fast.  I don’t have any other races scheduled for the summer.  I’d like to run another 10K or two in the fall.  My next big goal is to run the Brooklyn Half Marathon next spring.  This will give me ample time to train, and will be a very good incentive for keeping the weight off.  By my 35th birthday on September 21st (gifts accepted – I like books) I hope to be at my goal weight of 160 lbs.  Even with this week’s push, it looks more like a reality than it did a month ago when I was stuck around the 175 mark.

I also did something a little different this week.  Can you tell what it is?  No?  Ok, I’ll tell you.  All of my self-photos to this point have been mirror images of myself.  Today I wanted to show off my GOGI 10K t-shirt (wouldn’t you?)  It’s a little strange to look at the photos this way since I’ve gotten so used to the mirror image.  I mean, I see the other version in the mirror every morning.  Do we think about that?  Does anyone else realize that the mirror image that they see every morning is not necessarily how others see them?  It just makes me wonder if I should be parting my hair on the other side.  Vanity…Al Pacino’s favorite sin.

