I have been living in my neighborhood for over 10 years now.  Fish Tales, located at 191 Court Street has been my regular fish market  since I moved here.  I’ve always purchased the basics – tilapia or basa fillets, shrimp, the occasional meatier halibut or tuna, and every now and then I’d get a half-pint of their pre-made seafood salad.  Fish Tales is actually famous for their Manhattan Fish Chowder (featured on Throw Down with Bobby Flay), another of their pre-made offerings.  But it wasn’t until recently that I decided to try their house-made tuna and salmon salads.

To give you a bit of history on my tuna consumption – let’s say for the majority of my young life it was non-existent.  The smell of a freshly cracked can of tuna made me want to run for the hills and never come back.  It didn’t help that this was my younger brother’s favorite food.  It wasn’t until a couple of years ago that I decided to confront my childhood fears, and actually try some decent canned tuna.  I went with the higher end Italian stuff, packed in olive oil.  And you know what?  It was pretty tasty.  I tried making different kinds of tuna salad – some were good; others not as much.  Kristina recently turned me on to a French tuna and rice salad that we now make once every other week, or so.  It’s delicious!

Some days, though I just want a quick and easy lunch.  And for this I discovered the magically delicious tuna salad at Fish Tales.  I bought some yesterday along with a pint of their other-worldly New England Clam Chowder.  I ate the chowdah for lunch, and was going to save the tuna salad for today.  Kristina gets home, opens the fridge, sees the tuna salad, and immediately opens it for a taste.  You can imagine my horror.  But it’s ok – I’m good at sharing food.  She only took a bite, leaving me plenty to put on my sandwich today.

Had I known tuna could be so delicious as a small child, I may have eaten a lot fewer turkey or salami sandwiches, but who knows.  Taste buds change as we get older and wiser.  I’m glad I discovered I can actually like tuna.

