Fall is in the air…well, no.  It’s still pretty warm outside, and the summer is hardly over.  But at the retail level in store like J.Crew, Fall merchandise is beginning to fill the windows and racks, while the flimsy summer offerings are pushed back into the dark sale spaces.  I have been very happy with J.Crew’s newer offerings, and this month is no exception.  There are beautiful new suit fabrics, sport jackets,  a merino sweater with elbow patches (I have a weakness for elbow patches), Alden shoes, and some nice new plaid shirts.  There is also a new link on the website for The Ludlow Shop.  J.Crew has been making waves with their Ludlow suiting, and new stand-alone stores in NYC, and soon Boston (am I missing one?)  so it makes sense that they would single it out online too.  This is fun and all, but I will let the merchandise speak for itself.  

LUDLOW TWO-BUTTON SUIT WITH DOUBLE-VENTED BACK IN ITALIAN WOOL FLANNEL $590.00

The fabric is heavy enough for the cool Fall mornings, but the color is light enough to not look stuffy.  I like it!

LUDLOW THREE-BUTTON SUIT WITH DOUBLE-VENTED BACK IN ENGLISH THORNPROOF WOOL $678.00

Though, that doesn’t mean I have anything against a heavier, darker English wool…especially when it has a patch pocket.

HARVEST HERRINGBONE SPORTCOAT IN LUDLOW FIT $328.00

I considered this jacket last year when I was nearly 30 lbs heavier, and still wearing a 42.  Maybe this is the year I actually buy it.

BARN JACKET $168

J.Crew returns to its roots with this one.  When I worked at the store in 1997, this was the best-selling piece of outerwear.  Then it went away.  Nice to have you back, old friend.

BARBOUR® MERTON MAC $429.00

And a nice new collaboration on a raincoat.

BOWERY DONEGAL WOOL IN SLIM FIT $198.00

These are a bit pricey, but they look quite nice.  Though, if this winter is as warm as last year they may have a hard time selling these.

OXFORD PLAID SHIRT IN ROYAL INDIGO $75.00

A new take on the classic oxford shirt.  I don’t love wearing plaids, but this I would consider.

HEATHERED OXFORD SHIRT $69.50

Another nice oxford in light grey.

FLANNEL SHIRT IN SUNWASHED PLAID $79.50

And a bit of weekend flannel.  What do you wear for your urban landscaping adventures?

LAMBSWOOL CABLE CARDIGAN $98.00

Right now, only available in this color.  Might be a nice break from the typical navy, grey, & black.

SLIM SLUB MERINO V-NECK $88.00

Not sure what this slub is all about, but I am digging the elbow patches!

LIMITED-EDITION ALDEN® FOR J.CREW INDY BOOTS IN SUEDE $500.00

This is not Dr. Jones’ Indy boot.

LIMITED-EDITION ALDEN® FOR J.CREW PERFORATED-TIP BAL OXFORD BOOTS $545.00

Pricey, but sharp.  For the man who need not more than two pair of shoes.

CHIPPEWA® FOR J.CREW MOC-TOE BOOTS $288.00

And, of course something for your urban logging adventures.

THIN-STRIPE WOOL TIE $69.50

Wool ties seem to be all the rage for Fall.  I like wool ties.  I rarely wear a tie.

MINI-PAISLEY WOOL TIE $69.50

But this one would look very good with the Harvest Ludlow sport jacket.

CHUNKY RIBBED COTTON SOCKS $10.00

Orange socks!!!!

MONTAGUE SINGLE-COMPARTMENT BRIEFCASE $315.00

New to the Montague collection, a classic work bag.  I would consider this if I needed a new work bag…which I don’t.

BILLYKIRK® FOR J.CREW MESSENGER BAG $250.00

This one, however just screams “Look at Meeee!”  Which is something I don’t care to scream.  In fact, I don’t scream about very much at all.

I really like many of the new options for Fall.  Once I go through my closet, and remove and sell some older ill-fitting items, I may take a trip into Manhattan to check out the new Ludlow Shop, and perhaps head over to 484 Broadway for some casual items.  I’m surprised J.Crew hasn’t opened a store in Brooklyn yet.  I mean, with Brooklyn being the new hippest place on Earth to live, you’d figure they’d jump on the bandwagon, right?  It’s fine.  I like making excuses to go into Manhattan.  Believe it or not, I actually use Manhattan as a place to escape Brooklyn on the weekends.  Who’d have ever figured that?

