Whoops, gained a bit.  That’s ok.  I’ll take it off again this week.  Last weekend, Kristina and I rented a house with some friends.  We ate well, but somewhat heavier (chips, pie, bbq, homemade pizza), drank a bit too much (beer, wine, G&T’s), and didn’t exercise enough (though I did get in a 4 1/2 mile run.)  But here’s the cool thing – when we got home Sunday night, I stepped on the scale just to see.  I weighed in at 179.  179!!!  It made sense, and it didn’t.  We had also eaten steamed clams, and pasta for dinner, with strawberry rhubarb pie and ice cream for dessert, but still.  Monday morning that number was down to around 177.  Not good, but it did show how much my weight can flux over the course of a few hours.  Yesterday, I ate as I normally would on a Monday – an egg and English muffin for breakfast, had two sushi rolls for lunch, and then a light dinner.  I didn’t have a single sip of alcohol, and even got in a short run.  This morning, I weighed in 5 pounds lighter.  This leads me to a few conclusions:

  1. Bloating is a real thing
  2. Nothing a little cardio can’t cure
  3. My metabolism may be up
  4. My body has definitely gotten used to weighing in the low 170’s, and does not wish to be any heavier

I’m not sure that last one can be calculated, but the rest makes sense.  These types of weekends are a part of life, and there’s no reason to deny myself these things because otherwise, why am I even bothering to lose the weight?  The trick, I’ve found over these last 8 months is to eat properly 5 days out of 7 for three meals each day.  The other two days it’s ok to have pizza or a burger, or whatever else it is you love to eat.  Those weeks I will still lose weight – whether it’s .5 lbs, or 1.5 lbs it’s still a loss.  And if I gain a pound on the occasional binge weekend, so be it.  I had a great time this past weekend, and don’t regret a thing I ate or drank.

Next week, I am determined to weigh in below 170.  And the week after that, 168.  Wish me luck, friends!

